Next live concert Elinor Frey, Laura Andriani, Elisa Citterio – Boccherini String Trios will be on 29 March 2021 at 19h30

This all-Boccherini program is a rare treat for listeners worldwide. Boccherini is known as a cellist and chamber music composer whose works celebrate his instrument. American-Canadian cellist Elinor Frey has organized a series of online concerts during 2021 called “Intermezzi in Musica.” This concert features two guest violinists of great renown, the Italian-Canadian violinist Laura Andriani who was the first violin of the celebrated Alcan Quartet for over 13 years and Elisa Citterio who is the artistic director of the well-known period orchestra, Tafelmusik, and a star violinist and ensemble leader internationally. The program offers three string trios, here for two violins and cello, a rather under-used formation in the past 200 years, but very important in the mid-18th century. Although Boccherini is known to music lovers, he is not enough of a household name and only a few works are performed regularly. However, Boccherini stands as one of the most delightful and original voices of the classical era.

Live from Église de la Visitation, Montréal (QC)
March 29th, 7.30 p.m. EST – Available for two weeks after live performance

Concert program

Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805)

String Trio Op. 6, no. 5 in G minor (G 93) (9 min)
I. Adagio
II. Rondo allegro
III. Tempo di minuetto

String Trio Op. 54, no. 6 in (G 118) (15 min)
I. Presto assai
II. Larghetto
III. Tempo di minuetto
IV. Allegro vivo

String Trio Op. 34, no. 5 in C Major (G 105) (19 min)
I. Largo
II. Allegro vivo
III. Andante lento con variazioni

Laura Andriani, violin
Elisa Citterio, violin
Elinor Frey, cello

Discover the artists

Elinor Frey, Laura Andriani, Elisa Citterio – Boccherini String Trios

Cellist Elinor Frey has invited two brilliant violinists, Laura Andriani and Elisa Citterio, to together explore the charming and captivating String Trios of one of her favorite composers, Luigi Boccherini.

29 March 2021 at 19h30

Your Cart
Your cart is empty